Walking in a Winter Wonderland ♫♬

Halloj! Trying to do my homework and listen to music and watch Beyonce: I Am... World Tour all at the same time. It's actually working out pretty alright! First Luciapractice was today. The people here that are half Canadian, half Swedish, speak Swedish pretty good, and they speak old fashioned Swedish. So far, I haven't heard one person say the words "ju", "liksom", or "typ". They speak like the kind of the Swedish that one would learn if you'd buy "learn Swedish!"-cds on the Internet. They don't say "hur mår du?", they don't even know what that means. They say "hur står det till?". And I'm talking about the people my age, not the 400-yearolds. Pretty fun. And the Luciasongs, it's all the basic ones. Stilla natt, Staffansvisan (they call it that here instead of Staffan Stalledräng), Nu tändas tusen juleljus, and Glans över sjö och strand. Those are songs that I don't remember ever doing in the Luciatrains I've been in with my choir. We did Staffan Stalledräng, but a complicated version of it. We didn't do the Sankta Lucia-song as.. originally as they do it here. I guess it's because everything Swedish here is more Swedish than it is at home, and they stick to the basics, rather than, what we do, change the songs for every performance. I noticed today that I had gotten used to this complicated version of Sankta Lucia, so I'd always sing in another key or some places a complete different melody than the others. But I snapped back into the "real" one.

Anyways. Yesterday, someone in the office at school announced that we're expecting five centimeters of snow (OHMYGAAAASH WE'LL DROWN IN SNOOOWWW), and because of that, all the students should be watching the news all the time in case they would close the schools. Because apparently, that happens every other day here. I'm like.............. okaaay, five centimeters of snow and society stops..............

School wasn't closed today, but my buses were. Peter told me at school that Hannah's stuck in Heritage Woods. I asked why, and he said the buses to there aren't running. I was like.... I LIVE THERE, how do I get home?! But then I remembered I was going to the Scandinavian Centre after school. But what if it's closed tomorrow too? What'll I do?

Tomorrow's Black Friday in the states too. Black Friday is the night before (I think?) American Thanksgiving when there's a HUGE sale in the states, and everyone goes shopping at midnight. It's apparently extremely insane. I want to go, but there's no way I can get there. Darlene is going with her friend, but they're going tomorrow (Friday) morning at six o'clock am instead, and apparently, none of my friends are going. I don't know. It'd be so much fun to go to Seattle before I go home. Hopefully I will, it's only a two hour drive so I could always ask Candace, she's up for anything and her mom'd drive us to China if we wanted her to.


Walking in a winter wonderland














Outside my school


Kommentarer
Postat av: Anonym

Du kan inte åka till USA! Du får problem i passkontrollen för du är inte canadensare och saknar studentvisa. Dessutom måste du ha en speciell blankett för att komma in i USA, t o m när du bara byter plan. Dumma unge!

2010-11-26 @ 08:54:01

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0